Archive for January, 2009

Can You Really Saturate The Internet?

January 31st, 2009

It is an interesting question. In an enormous ever expanding space, can you fill it? On the internet even niche sites it seems that there are seven. Copy cat sites for different areas pop up all over the globe, catering for a specific nations people. Reverberating echoing noise.

I popped over to TechCrunch recently and noted this new post on the launch of yet another answer service on the internet. There are already a few dozen, according to ReadWriteWeb. So why yet another? Well, Schonfeld was not impressed with the service, so he claims to not have an idea why. Neither do I. Also, Wikia is launching it, so I assume that I will be avoiding it.

I suppose that the amazingly low cost of development is enabling anyone around (literally) to jump on the bandwagon. A good example of this is the number of blogs out there, mostly that should not exist (not counting myself out there). People just keep building and building. They are saved (the ones that float and do not sink) by the sheer size of the internet. Will that always last?

I generally try to have a definite conclusion to my posts, but this time I don't. I really don't understand the concept of mimicking to no end. Innovation is not repetition. I want to see something new and exciting. Not the same crap with a better paint job. Those hacks are not entrepreneurs. A photo copier does not make you inventive. It makes me dislike you.

I hope that the trend will end, but it wont. It's to simple a system. Not to say that some things make sense to have duplicates, I am just pointing out the most egregious knockoffs. We'll see how it goes. Just don't pitch me something that I am already using.

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Silence – Work Overrun

January 31st, 2009

Apologies for the lack of recent posting, work has been pretty insane. On the flip side, if you head over RemixGalaxy in a little bit you might see something cool.

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The TweetDeck Effect – Revisited

January 29th, 2009

I am little embarrased about this, but take a gander at this handy chart:

Graph of my from twitter.com/alexwilhelm:
Tweetdeck 2

I began using TweetDeck either late December or early January. That is a pretty interesting effect. Also, I followed a few thousand more people, but still, TweetDeck is amazing. 

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Notes on the Arrington Fiasco

January 29th, 2009

I will not recant my previous statements that I was overly harsh on TechCrunch and it's staff (I was), but I came across something of great interest today. Duncan Riley, an ex-TechCrunch author gave us a little insight to Arrington and how he runs his little empire.

The whole post can be found here. I would recommend reading it; it is very illuminating. However, you are here now, so a few points are in order:

Duncan states:
"In Michael's world, you're 100% [in] agree[ment] with him, or you're 100% against him"

That shoots off warning bells to me. If there is one that that I cannot stand in any way it is a person who is an ideologue to their personality and their beliefs. This is exactly my complaint against people of extreme religious faith. Their dead ability to reason has ruined them.

He goes on to tell:

"But lets be clear on the why: it

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Ad Revenue Per Visit – What Your Eyes Cost

January 28th, 2009

Moving away from heavy metal for the time being, after our discussions on ad revenue I wanted to do some more research. I wondered, when you go to a blog that has high yield (by CPM) ads, what does it cost the aggregate publishers to have you visit? Or, from the other way, what does the publisher make from your visit?

Firstly, we are going to be working with data from Federate Media, as they represent some of the biggest names on the internet. Lets take an average of a $20 CPM rate. This might be a little off, but sites seem to range from $7 to $36 dollars per thousand impressions across the site, so $20 sounds like a fair average. [also, ads have different rates based on size and placement, so this average is not perfect]. Now, once again we need to get an average number of ads per site, and by visiting a few, I would say the average number is around 4. Once again, this is a quick and dirty estimate. Not all sites, especially the smaller sites, have sold all their ads. But four seems to be about right.

So we have an average CPM rate of $20 and an average of 4 ads. That means that the site is getting a combined CPM rate of around $80/thousand impressions. That is an amazing number. Anyway, lets do some more math.

As a single person, you are 1/000 of that rate. As in, you count as one impression. So we need to divide that $80 into 1000 pieces. 80/1000 = $0.08, or eight cents. That means, that every time you hit the front page of an average provider gets 8 cents. 

Let's see what I am making on this blog. [Admittedly, this blog is not for profit]. I get 50 cents per thousand impressions, which could be worse. That means that I am getting 1/160th of what they are. Is my content really so much worse? I hope not, but it does show you the power of having an audience of more than, say, 100,000 pageviews per month. 

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Michael Arrington Takes A Break – I’m Part to Blame

January 28th, 2009

Turns out Arrington is about as popular as I had thought: extremely popular. But unlike any other celebrity, he does not have tens of millions of dollars and several bodyguards. People apparently have been physically harassing him, alongside what I am sure is a deluge of constant online attacks.

That was me, I am partly to blame.

If you dig through this blogs archives you will note a large number of derogatory comments against Arrington and TechCrunch. I want to apologize for a number of them. While I am still not a huge TechCrunch fan, I recant any personal remarks made against any TechCrunch writer. 

Arrington has decided to take a month off and figure out where life is headed. Good for him, if he decides to come back I will gladly read his work again. You can read Michaels post here.

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Metallica – Chicago – Amazing

January 27th, 2009

As promised to everyone on Twitter, and my non-tech cohorts, here are some images and notes from last nights Metallica concert in Chicago. (Allstate Arena, January 26, 2009).

A few people showed up, this is a shot from about 20 minutes from before Metallica came on:
Metallica chicago 2009 allstate 1

The opening light show was amazing. They shot smoke into the air and then had a wild laser show for the first two songs:
Metallica chicago 2009 allstate 2

James milking the crowd before playing "Creeping Death:"
Metallica chicago 2009 allstate 3

The light boxes were all shaped like coffins in honor of the Death Magnetic cd cover:
Metallica chicago 2009 allstate 4

These next two are a few samples of the pyrotechnics that were used. The first image (sorry, iPhone quality) is one of the 30 foot fireballs they were shooting into the air. The second is of the synchronized (and color changing!) jets of flame from "One:"
Metallica chicago 2009 allstate 5

Metallica chicago 2009 allstate 6

A good shot of the band playing with green lights turned on. It was hard to get images, the lights would change so fast that some shots are blurred to oblivion:
Metallica chicago 2009 allstate 7

The coffins in motion again, they were moving about throughout the show:
Metallica chicago 2009 allstate 9

The lasers are back!
Metallica chicago 2009 allstate 10

And finally, during the second encore (Seek and Destroy) several dozen large Metallica-logo emblazoned beach balls fell from the sky. They mostly ended up on stage where the member of Metallica would throw them at other band members to force them into making mistakes. After the show was actually over (post encores) James and Rob played a strange form of head-only volleyball with one. Lars commented that "next they're going to juggle for you Chicago!"
Metallica chicago 2009 allstate 11

All in all, the most amazing and best night of my life. I have over 200 pictures from the show, so if you desire a few more, I can do that. 

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First Hand Look At Why Advertising Rarely Works

January 27th, 2009

I have ads on this blog, they make no money, but for some reason I had to add them in. I wandered over to my ad provider, Adify via Typepad, and took a look at my click through rate. Shockingly Predictably enough, it was horrible. 

Either you all are far to smart to click on ads (a good reason), or the ads are poorly targeted (not helping at all). Whatever the reason, I have a CTR of  0.1%. Take that ad platform. Pay me for those impressions, I am taking my 50 cent CPM to the bank.

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ChaCha Is Raising 30 Million – Bad Startups Doing Ok

January 26th, 2009

Sometimes when you read the news in the morning you hack up all over the floor. I did today when I read that shite service extraordinare ChaCha is raising a 30 million dollar series C round of funding. Apparently flushing their money down the first two times was not enough for these investors. This will bring the total amount of fail-cash to an amazing 46 million. 

Sure, there is a global recession. Sure there is a huge credit crises. But in silicon valley everything is possible, ChaCha just proved this.

Someone send in the fail boat.

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The American Health Care System

January 25th, 2009

Moving off topic here everyone, heads up.

Given that last year was an election year, I have been thinking quite a bit about health care and the like. My sister is a doctor, so I am keyed in somewhat. This involves a good friend of mine, and some frostbite. Needless to say, not the happiest story, but interesting.

So my friend was out all night a little bit ago. This is Chicago. It was cold and snowy. His socks got wet and he froze for a long time. Not the worst thing, living in Chicago means being cold. But something wasn't right. His toes were completely iced, and he had limited sensation. Being like me, he shrugged it off until the next day. 

It started getting worse, his toes started to blister and turn purple. He called my sister for advice. She told him to get it looked at. We put it off for another day. Today it was far to bad to ignore. We went to the hospital.

Nice place, really, got a little lost, but found the ER. Once we found the right person we were with a nurse in minutes. Then one doctor. Then another. Then a resident. It was a never ending stream of people looking ag my friends feet. 

All in all, we felt a little bit like rockstars. Everyone wanted to talk to us and just chat it up. Weird.

All of the them were extremely happy, nice, and professional. Busy, sure, but they actually cared. My friend is still there, hes going to need to stay off his feet for a while, but the level of service was amazing. For whatever it is worth, our system does get some things right. 

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